My Side of the Conflict

Duane Gundrum
3 min readNov 9, 2023
Licensed from Adobe Stock

A student in one of my government classes asked me which side of the conflict was I siding with. Instead of a direct answer, I said, “Most of our country is siding with Israel, while a lot of the non-governmental individuals are siding with Gaza, and a tiny percentage are siding with Hamas.”

Realizing they were never going to get a direct answer from me, one asked: “How do you think the conflict will end up?”

I said, “Lots of people will die, and no matter what the end resolution is, no one will be happy. War is uncertainty. You never know how it’s going to turn out. Remember the Great Emu War when the Australian Army picked a fight with a bunch of emu and lost? Once you’re at war, there’s no take backs or time outs. You get what you get.”

Which brings me to my real opinion of this war: I don’t have one.

I’m not Israeli nor am I from Gaza. I understand that Israel is a strong ally of the United States, and we’re not strong allies of Gaza or any entity in Gaza. So, I’ll back whatever side my country decides to support, even if I hate the fact that it’s war and war sucks. I was in the US Army some years back, and even then I wasn’t a fan of war; you rarely like war when you’re in the vehicle that fights that war.

Which is one of the things that scares me. As I said, people who have been in wars don’t…

--

--

Duane Gundrum

Author of Innocent Until Proven Guilty and 15 other novels. Writer, college professor and computer game designer.